MY OU COUSIN

MY OU COUSIN’S NAME IS KATRA. SHE IS 24 AND FROM SLOVENIA, GETTING HER MASTERS IN PHOTOGRAPHY HERE AT OU. IMG_1088
SHE IS ONE OF THE SWEETEST PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MET– ALBIET VERY FRANK WHICH I LOVE– AND SPEAKS ENGLISH ALMOST LIKE A NATIVE. WE MET IN THE CROWDED JIM THORPE MULTICULTURAL CENTRE, THE ENTIRE BUILDING FILLED TO THE BRIM WITH AMERICAN AND FOREIGN STUDENTS HOPING TO FIND A CONNECTION WITH THEIR OVERSEAS COUNTERPART. I ENTERED THE BUILDING HOPING TO FIND A RUSSIAN SPEAKING OU COUSIN, SOMEBODY WHO COULD HELP ME DEVELOP MY RUSSIAN WHILE I HELPED THEM WITH THEIR ENGLISH. AFTER TEN MINUTES OF MINGLING WITH SOME SPANISH AND FRENCH GIRLS, I FOUND OUT THERE WERE NO RUSSIAN STUDENTS AND UPON THIS REALIZATION KATRA APPEARED. SHE HAD ON THE COOLEST CAT SHIRT I’D EVER SEEN, AND ROCKED A VERY JULES-ESQUE TOP-BUN. I IMMEDIATELY INTRODUCED MYSELF AND WE JUST CLICKED. THE BOND OVER CAT SHIRTS, PHOTOGRAPHY, AND BEYONCÉ MADE US INSEPARABLE FOR THE REST OF THE DAY AND SINCE THEN, WE HAVE ENJOYED MANY A LUNCH TOGETHER. KATRA AND I LATER WENT TO THE OKLAHOMA CITY STATE FAIR IN OCTOBER, WHERE WE ATE GREASY AMERICAN FOOD TIL WE FELT SICK.

IMG_1089

MEETING KATRA WAS A HIGHLIGHT OF THE SEMESTER AND I LOOK FORWARD TO VISITING HER WHEN I’M ABROAD. THE OU COUSINS PROGRAMME IS AN ORGANIZATION I INTEND TO CONTINUE THROUGHOUT MY FOUR YEARS HERE AT OU!
PHOTOS COURTESY OF KATRA PETRICEK.
Leave a Reply

